OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Installing 2.0 on Mandrake 10

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blwagner
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:34 pm    Post subject: Installing 2.0 on Mandrake 10 Reply with quote

Just wondering if it's possible to install on Mandrake 10 yet...still think I'm a newbie though I've been using OO for three or four years now...

B-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9point9
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3875
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, OOo 2.0 will install very well on Mandrake 10. The instructions listed on the OOo site is all you need:
http://download.openoffice.org/2.0.0/instructions.html#linux[url][/url]
_________________
Arch Linux
OOo 3.2.0

OOoSVN, change control for OOo documents:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ooosvn/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blwagner
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dunno what's up. The first time I tried double-clicking RPM file I'd downloaded but that told me something was wrong with the core files.

The second time around, I followed the directions, precisely, (and I wasn't even that uncomfortable in a terminal window for a change) and it looked like it should have worked. But it's not showing up anywhere. I cannot find it where I think it should be. And when I go to use the old icons on the desktop I'm getting my old version starting up. I think I'm going to have to turn this over to hubby, the computer genius in our house (but who doesn't work from home like some people in this family do...)

<whine>
I want the new OO...
</whine>

B-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9point9
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3875
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reason why you can not find the shortcuts will be because you won't have installed the desktop integration RPM. If you go into the /RPMS/dektop-integration subdirectory of the TAR there is an RPM for Mandrake/Mandriva. Install that and you will get a set of menu icons.

The program itself will be in /opy/openoffice.org2.0/program. Run srwiter, scalc, sdraw etc.
_________________
Arch Linux
OOo 3.2.0

OOoSVN, change control for OOo documents:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ooosvn/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blwagner
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But I thought that if I moved the Mandriva desktop integration RPM into the same folder as the core RPMs, that it would install...

Anyway, when I try to run that RPM, it tells me that core-01 is missing.

And the programs are not in /opt either. Only 1.1.5 is there.

B-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9point9
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3875
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In that case the installation failed. What gets printed to the terminal at each stage of the installation procedure?
_________________
Arch Linux
OOo 3.2.0

OOoSVN, change control for OOo documents:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ooosvn/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gwau
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:09 pm    Post subject: desktop integration on Mandriva 2006 Reply with quote

I ran the desktop integration rpm but cannot find any new icons or links to the program. Help??? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9point9
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3875
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They should have been installed in the Kicker menu in the Office submenu.
_________________
Arch Linux
OOo 3.2.0

OOoSVN, change control for OOo documents:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ooosvn/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cwchia
Super User
Super User


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 1050
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another alternative is by using urpmi. Open a terminal and navigate to the RPMS sub-directory of your OOo rpms and issue this command:

urpmi *.rpm

you should see that about 30 rpms got installed if everything goes well.

Next nevigate into the desktop-integration sub-directory and install only the mandriva specific rpm file.

I have been using this method sine the early beta of 2.0 with Mandrake 10.0 and so far so good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noranthon
Super User
Super User


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 3318

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed OO 1.1.4, 1.1.5, 2.0.0 and (I believe) 2.0.1 in turn on Mandrake 10.2.

For 2.0.1, after checking the md5sum (did you do that? - your download may be no good), I (atypically) followed the instructions. I'm not sure they specified moving the desktop rpm into the same folder as the other rpms, but that's what I did. The command "rpm -Uvh *rpm" worked without any hitch.

The only thing now is that I cannot check whether I've now got 2.0.1 or 2.0.0 but the software is working so I'm unconcerned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9point9
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3875
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Help > About, Ctrl + S, D, T will give you build number and credits. 2.0.1 = 680m1 build 8990.

Yes, that is a silly way of finding out! It should be changed for 2.0.2. I would prefer to see version numbers back on the window title bars like in 1.x.
_________________
Arch Linux
OOo 3.2.0

OOoSVN, change control for OOo documents:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ooosvn/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
noranthon
Super User
Super User


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 3318

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 8:04 pm    Post subject: An aside - by the way Reply with quote

I don't want to hijack the thread but Help>About and ctrl S+D+T must be Windows only. The first got me "version 2.0" and the second caused my file browser to become hysterical - 11 more windows were opened before I managed to hit the cancel keys (I understand you use the key combination after selecting soffice in your browser; in Calc the combination opens a drop-down list from the active Calc cell - all too weird for me).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
9point9
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3875
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not a Windows only thing, it works under Linux for me. Perhaps you have some different key bindings for your desktop environment which are interfering. I'm running KDE 3.4.2.
_________________
Arch Linux
OOo 3.2.0

OOoSVN, change control for OOo documents:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ooosvn/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group