OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Importing database table into spreadsheet

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dark_ixion
General User
General User


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:07 am    Post subject: Importing database table into spreadsheet Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm having a problem working out how to import a table or query result into a spreadsheet. I've looked all over this forum but can't find a mention of this rather normal operation, so maybe I'm missing the obvious.

I just want to display table data in their normal columns in the spreadsheet. I've played around with Datapilot, but this is the same as a pivottable in Excel and not what I'm after. I don't wish to summarise the data in anyway, just display it in its entirety. In Excel there's a Get External Data option which does the job, but I can't find an equivalent, which is very suprising.

Any help on how to do this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewZ
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 4140
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this

1. Start Calc
2. Press F4 to bring up the data browser
3. Find your data
4. Drag it and drop it on the spreadsheet
_________________
<signature>
* Did you solve your problem? Do others a favor: Post the solution
* OpenOffice.org Ninja
* BleachBit
</signature>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dark_ixion
General User
General User


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that Andrew.

While that works, it doesn't allow refreshes of data. Is there a way of linking it to the data?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dark_ixion wrote:
Thanks for that Andrew.

While that works, it doesn't allow refreshes of data. Is there a way of linking it to the data?

Select the range (Data>Select...) or a single cell within and Data>Refresh.

Import as data pilot (aka pivot table, aka cross table):
Data>Data Pilot>Start...
[x] Data source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dark_ixion
General User
General User


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is excellent, and what I'm after. I just wish you could right-click on one of the cells that linked to the database and select refresh table.

Thanks guys. You've been a great help. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group