OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Pasting a Write documenty to Calc.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Writer
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Weatherlawyer
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 154
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:23 am    Post subject: Pasting a Write documenty to Calc. Reply with quote

How do I change "space" characters to "tabs" so I can paste Writer into Calc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
acknak
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 4295
Location: ~ 40°N,75°W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume you mean you have some tabular data in Writer and you want to keep the rows and columns when you paste into Calc--right?

If so, there's no need to replace the spaces. Just select the text in Writer and copy to clipboard. Then in Calc, Edit > Paste Special, as "Unformatted text"; choose space as the separator, adjust the column types if necessary and OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weatherlawyer
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 154
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And how do I tell Calc which spaces are which?

Speaking of which, how do I choose spaces as separators?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
David
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 5668
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I find that a straight copy/paste works well.

David.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weatherlawyer
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 154
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It will copy from Writer and paste to Calc but the thing just sits there occupying arceage not columns and cells.

I am using Windoze if that makes any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
jrkrideau
Super User
Super User


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 6732
Location: Kingston ON Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weatherlawyer wrote:
It will copy from Writer and paste to Calc but the thing just sits there occupying arceage not columns and cells.

I am using Windoze if that makes any difference.


I have never figured out how to do this either but what I have found works is to paste the Wrtier text into a text editor (Tinn-R in my case ) and then do another copy and paste into Calc. Calc then treats the text as it would treat a text file ans asks for seperators etc.
_________________
jrkrideau
Kingston ON Canada
Currently using Windows 7 & OOo 3.4.0 and Ubuntu 12.04 & LibreOffice 3.5.2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flaxthejute
General User
General User


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

acknak wrote:
I assume you mean you have some tabular data in Writer and you want to keep the rows and columns when you paste into Calc--right?

If so, there's no need to replace the spaces. Just select the text in Writer and copy to clipboard. Then in Calc, Edit > Paste Special, as "Unformatted text"; choose space as the separator, adjust the column types if necessary and OK.

Weatherlawyer wrote:
And how do I tell Calc which spaces are which?

Speaking of which, how do I choose spaces as separators?


Did you actually try this? If you did it's obvious how choose spaces as separators.

As to which spaces are which. The only solution I've been able to come up with, is to change all the spaces that have to be separators into another character either manually, or using find/replace. If your "tabular data" is in columns of the same width, when you get the dialog box after you do the paste special, choose the "fixed width" option and you'll have a chance to place column delimiters.

Flax

OFFTOPIC: I hate your sig, it completely rubs me up the wrong way. If you can get the same sort of thing on Usenet, then push off there and get it Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Writer All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group