OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

SOLVEDOOo 3.3 writer crash on run macro request "JRE de

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
seansl
General User
General User


Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:43 pm    Post subject: SOLVEDOOo 3.3 writer crash on run macro request "JRE de Reply with quote

I try to run a macro I have created and 3.3 crashes:
I get this screen:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7261761/screen%20afterOOo%203.3RunMacro%20click.jpg

and when I click the OK OOo 3.3 crashes & I get the screen:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7261761/OOo%203.3%20just%20crashed.jpg

I have installed Java 1.5:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7261761/javaPreference%20OOo3.3.jpg

Help,


Last edited by seansl on Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pitonyak
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 3655
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tools > options > OpenOffice.org > Java

Select a java runtime.
_________________
--
Andrew Pitonyak
http://www.pitonyak.org/oo.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
seansl
General User
General User


Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NOT SOLVED; yet:

What I said in the original post:
I have installed Java 1.5:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7261761/javaPreference%20OOo3.3.jpg

Help,

The sequence within the windows version of writer evidently is Tools > Options > OpenOffice.org > Java as you have said (and actually as the error message also says - again quoting from the link in my start inquiry post:

I get this screen:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7261761/screen%20afterOOo%203.3RunMacro%20click.jpg

This is not the OS X sequence (on OOo 3.3 that I am using ); the OS X sequence is:
OpenOffice.org > Preferences ... > OpenOffice.org > Tools > Java

and the link in my start inquiry post:
I have installed Java 1.5:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7261761/javaPreference%20OOo3.3.jpg shows I linked JRE 1.5.0 and excitingly OOo 3.3 writer accepted and took up this link.

Yet after all the seemingly right stuff, 3.3 crashed & I thought I would ask for help on the forum.

seansl

Please also note writer thought Java 1.6 was wonderful before I added / moved to 1.5 and yes before this change the system crashed. seansl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floris_v
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 4791
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does Java work correctly in other programs? Maybe it really is defective. What happens if you use Java from the java.com website?
On a side note, not everybody can recognise the Apple interface from a picture; it's better to tell what OS you use when you ask a question.
You're correct that Apple deals with some things differently than Windows/Linux, what Apple calls Preferences is Options on the other systems.
_________________
LibreOffice 3.6.3; OOo 3.4.1 on Windows Vista
Join the Official community forum - in several languages, including Nederlandstalig forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seansl
General User
General User


Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good question. I downloaded & set up JRE 1.5.0 not specifically for OOo but for Ruby on Rails.

Now the thick plottens: I have gotten rails to generate the project skeleton but I cannot ( yet; I am a not even a beginner with Ruby on Rails ) honestly tell you if I have any proof that the Java 1.6 or 1.5 really work.

Please suggest what can I do to elicit and demonstrate whether either JRE works or not.

seansl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pitonyak
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 3655
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that wizards require Java. Same for Base with a built-in database.
_________________
--
Andrew Pitonyak
http://www.pitonyak.org/oo.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
seansl
General User
General User


Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used the help menu in OOo writer and picked an item "page" which I think needed the Java JRE to open and it worked. So JRE seems to be working in 3.3.

But when I put your little macro "Hello World" into main and tried to run it the crash continued exactly as before.

I must also now admit previous versions (not the experimental 3.3) let me run macros. But when I tried to add a macro as an item on my menu (my own menu ) it gave the same initial error message & I hit OK & the message repeated about 4 times and the last time it let me in and it worked. My only problem is with 3.3 really because it self destructs rather than coughing a lot and then working like the previous version.

Any other ideas or help with 3.3? seansl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pitonyak
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 3655
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have not gone to 3.3.... So your macro works in the previous version? If yes, then I recommend that you open a bug report.
_________________
--
Andrew Pitonyak
http://www.pitonyak.org/oo.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
pitonyak
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 3655
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decided that I should ask directly. so, has this macro worked in a previous version of OOo?

Are you able to run ANY java macros in 3.3?
_________________
--
Andrew Pitonyak
http://www.pitonyak.org/oo.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
seansl
General User
General User


Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:28 pm    Post subject: SOLVED: for now Reply with quote

And not particularly pretty!! I mean I didn't learn much; just sort of used a sledge hammer:
I deleted OOo 3.3 and downloaded it again, and installed it (on OS X this is done by dragging an icon for OOo to an icon for applications and that is it).

AND THAT WORKED.

At this point I have OOo 3.3 on two computers: one is a Windows vista version and the other is the OS X version. I wonder if the problem will reemerge as I pass files back and work on & update the programs between the systems? (I am not sure where the repository for the macros is because the macros do not pass with the files as they go between the computers.

Thank you for your input, I am glad the "problem went away" & I will see what happens,

seansl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pitonyak
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 3655
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting..... did not expect that Smile
_________________
--
Andrew Pitonyak
http://www.pitonyak.org/oo.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
howard
OOo Advocate
OOo Advocate


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 333
Location: Newfoundland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem in LINUX. (PCLinuxOS with LXDE interface). I edited in my special characters basic macro that has worked on all earlier versions, but when I tried to assign keys I got the defective java message, despite the fact that java 1.60 is installed.

However, when I went back into the customise keyboard routine so that I could report the wording here I discovered that when I click on the error message's close window x enough times (rather a lot!) that the message goes away everything works OK.

It seems that it's not the java that's defective, but the error checking routine.

Incidentally, I am using the genuine Oracle OOo 3.3 and not the modified version that the distro supplies.
_________________
Howard
3.41 (Vanilla) on various versions of PCLinuxOS and 4.01 on W8.1 (hardly ever used!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group