OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

[Solved] SQL parameter syntax

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cenda
Power User
Power User


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:32 am    Post subject: [Solved] SQL parameter syntax Reply with quote

How is the syntax of parameter in OO SQL . I am used to Oracle SQL but its syntax doesn’t work in OO . I’ve tried a lot of variations but am not able to find the right one .

My code which doesn’t work is :
Code:

SELECT "BOZP_REAL" AS "DATE", 'BOZP_REAL', 'BOZP', "JMENO_PRACOVNIKA"
FROM "Renka_new"
WHERE "JMENO_PRACOVNIKA" = :name

Please help me to show user parameter in form to populate .
Any advice appreciated .
Cenda


Last edited by Cenda on Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

I think you can use the query only when it is not in native mode.

Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenda
Power User
Power User


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:54 am    Post subject: Native mode Reply with quote

Sorry, what does mean „native mode“ ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Sorry, what does mean „native mode“ ?

Sorry, what means "doesn't work"?
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenda
Power User
Power User


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:21 am    Post subject: It doesnt retrieve any row Reply with quote

Doesn’t work mean that the select doesn’t retrieve any row .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Cenda
Power User
Power User


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And it doesn’t ask for parameter to be populated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

You have notice that there are two modes for SQL.
One is Native or direct mode. The other is this not.


Help file wrote:
SQL Mode
SQL stands for "Structured Query Language" and describes instructions for updating and administering relational databases.
In LibreOffice you do not need any knowledge of SQL for most queries, since you do not have to enter the SQL code. If you create a query in the query design, LibreOffice automatically converts your instructions into the corresponding SQL syntax. If, with the help of the Switch Design View On/Off button, you change to the SQL view, you can see the SQL commands for a query that has been created previously.
You can formulate your query directly in the SQL code. Note, however, that the special syntax is dependent upon the database system that you use.
If you enter the SQL code manually, you can create SQL-specific queries that are not supported by the graphical interface in Query design. These queries must be executed in native SQL mode.


Quote:
By clicking the Run SQL command directly icon in the SQL view, you can formulate a query that is not processed by LibreOffice.



In OOo mode
a) You can use named parameters in queries.

in Native mode
a) You can use special commands of the database engine.
b) You cannot used named parameters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenda
Power User
Power User


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it is ran in OO mode cause I launch it by double click on the query name in the query folder .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

This is a wrong answers. See to the query

Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

The only way you can see is how you did made the query. You need double clickking for running the query. Does not matter what kind of query this is.

I use here Normal query against to native query. I think a normal query is a word not normally used in OOo-base

When you see the gui then it is an Normal query.

When you see only text then it can be a Normal query or a native query.
When you can go back to the GUI then it is a Normal query. When you cannot go back to the GUI interface then it is a native query. But be aware some Normal queries can be a native query.

This means a native query is not processed as a Normal query. That not processed as a normal query makes it to a native query. This procesing of the query is a kind of translating of the query from the OOo syntax to the syntax of the current Database engine

When you look to the button then if the SQL button is highlight then it is a native query.
When the button is not highlight then i is a normal query.

I hope this clear to you and also I hope I did not make an error in the explanation.

Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenda
Power User
Power User


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:55 am    Post subject: Partly solved Reply with quote

Thank you very much . Now I figured it out how doest it work . I un highlighted the SQL icon and then it prompted for parameter input . Unfortunately it reorganized the code which is not so simple as the one posted to the forum .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group