OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

If two cells equal, then - how to

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alaza
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:42 am    Post subject: If two cells equal, then - how to Reply with quote

Hi there.

I am currently designing a spreadsheet in Ooffice Calc, and I'm a quite new to it. Is it possible for me to design it so, that if two cells contain the same value, they are marked red (or some other action is taken)?

Thank you

Tore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgroenescheij
Super User
Super User


Joined: 20 Apr 2011
Posts: 870
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You can use Conditional Formatting.
Add a formula e.g. A1=A2 and create a new Style where you have the background red.

Martin
_________________
If your problem has been solved please add "[Solved]" to the beginning of your first post title (edit button).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alaza
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again.

Thank you, very much what I was looking for.

I got it to work, almost. Is it possible that it can affect both of the cells, and not just the one? Even if I mark two cells, go to "conditional formatting", set up the formatting, only the first cell is affected by the formatting.

Thank you

Tore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keme
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 2910
Location: Egersund, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The conditional formatting uses absolute/relative addressing, so if you set the formatting for a range and didn't "lock" coordinates (by prefixing $), the non working cell(s) are comparing the wrong data. Select the cells in question and open conditional format. There will be differences...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group