OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

HELP! Trouble pasting in Calc says unformatted text?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bcory32
General User
General User


Joined: 15 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:29 pm    Post subject: HELP! Trouble pasting in Calc says unformatted text? Reply with quote

I have been using OO for quite some time with no issue until I bought a new PC.

Running Windows 7 Home Premium and Open Office 3.3.0

When copying a line in a brand new spreadsheet and then pasting with Paste Special it says

Source Unknown - Unformatted text

I have unistalled then reinstalled. It usually gives you the ability to shift cells down or not, etc.

Please help it takes forever to do spreadsheets without the ability to copy and paste.

Thanks
Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floris_v
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 4791
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reset your user profile. Click here for help how to do that.
_________________
LibreOffice 3.6.3; OOo 3.4.1 on Windows Vista
Join the Official community forum - in several languages, including Nederlandstalig forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bcory32
General User
General User


Joined: 15 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:07 pm    Post subject: AWESOME YOU FIXED IT Reply with quote

THANK YOU
THANK YOU
THANK YOU
THANK YOU
THANK YOU

REALLY I CANT THANK YOU ENOUGH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bcory32
General User
General User


Joined: 15 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:39 pm    Post subject: WAIT ITS DOING IT AGAIN Reply with quote

It worked the first time I tried copying multiple rows at the same time. The second time I copied just 4 cells it stopped working again. Same symptoms?

File corrupt? Works fine on a MAC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bcory32
General User
General User


Joined: 15 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:16 pm    Post subject: any thoughts Reply with quote

tried unistalling, tried renaming folder

works the first time I copy and paste then loses mind?

should I give up? hate to have to go back to MS.....

may I should reformat and wipe computer....

are there hidden files that don't get unistalled that I could delete? reg entries?



whats weird is that I just installed OO on another computer and no issues even with same folders.

I am using dropbox not that should make a difference...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floris_v
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 4791
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you should disable dropbox and see if that makes a difference.
Where are you copying from, by the way?
_________________
LibreOffice 3.6.3; OOo 3.4.1 on Windows Vista
Join the Official community forum - in several languages, including Nederlandstalig forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bcory32
General User
General User


Joined: 15 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 1:15 pm    Post subject: I will try that Reply with quote

Just reinstalled again for the heck of it.

I am trying to copy two or more rows of calc and pasting within the same document. Paste special shift cells down isn't available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bcory32
General User
General User


Joined: 15 Mar 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:03 am    Post subject: Still not working??? Reply with quote

Impossible to use open office this way. Can't copy formatting or multiple cells within the same document. Doesn't matter if I create a new one or try modifying existing files. Same file works on other machines. Changing my profile fixes the issue temporarily but problem starts up after three exactly three copy and pastes.

PLEASE HELP! I love oo and now my only choice is to reformat my machine or plain give up. Its impossible to use calc if I can only copy one cell at a time. Didn't realise just how good we had it until you lose it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group