OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

mysql to open office connection

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shutzy
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:44 am    Post subject: mysql to open office connection Reply with quote

i have created a connection to mysql(i think). im not really sure as i cannot see any of the tables i created in workbench. if i should be able to then can someone please guide me.

if i have conected correctly then can someone please explain why i have very limited options in the create table design. by limited options i mean that when i asign a field type i have about 5 options. also the allowed field name length is very small.

im very confused and very new to all this. i created a database though access and want to move to mysql with open office providing the frontend du to the size limitations of access(2gb)

i really need help on this so if anyone could offer any advise i will be most greatful.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pete234
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use odbc it will help you to connect your table with mysql.
xml data conversion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cilt
Power User
Power User


Joined: 20 May 2010
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah I use mysql and OO base

i use the MYSQL Connector extention which you can install thru> tools >extension manager
you need >oo3.2

then do a connect to existing Database and select connect directly.

I works really well and i use it heaps

cilt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whittycat
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Wellington Somerset,UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just installed the mysql connector. MySQL is working fine and I can use it ok via the command window. If I look in the Extension manager the connector is there. I fire up Base and select connect to MySQL directly but then I get stuck because I don't know how to answer the questions. The MySQL server is in C:\program files\mysql\mysql Server 5.5 [this is Windows XP] but I need to know (a) when it asks for the server what do I put? and (b) do I need to specify a named pipe? As soon as I can get this going I am sure I shall use it heaps too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cilt
Power User
Power User


Joined: 20 May 2010
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

server = localhost
accept the default port 3306

no named pipe required
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whittycat
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Wellington Somerset,UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I tried that first. That is the right answer in Linux, though
there the connector needs to be told the socket as well. Also in the
mysql database the table 'user' has a field 'host' with the value
'localhost'. The error message I get is
"Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061)"
and it goes on to say
"SQL Status HY000, Error code 2003"

and I thought that this meant a problem with the server but maybe not;
it is just saying it can't connect and I get exactly the same error
message if I try to connect with the wrong password.

The MySQL Reference Manual has a section on this error which includes this:

The error (as above) indicates that the network connection has been
refused. You should check that there is a MySQL server running...

I have checked and the server is running. The Task Manager says so and
I can run MySQL from a command window. Some of the comments in the article
suggest some other things.
(a) try bind-address=0.0.0.0 no change
(b) turn off skip-networking no change

I have run out of ideas. I would delighted to hear if you have any.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whittycat
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Wellington Somerset,UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

(solved)
I had one more idea; I wondered how OOo knows where the server is. Surely it has to be via the PATH environment variable. So I edited the PATH to include C:\Program Files\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.5 and now OOo Base can connect in the expected way.
It helps to talk it over ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group