OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Volume control/media buttons do not work in Open Office
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dsscott
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:02 pm    Post subject: Volume control/media buttons do not work in Open Office Reply with quote

As indicated in the title, the media buttons on my Dell Vostro 1400 do not work in Open Office. If another program window is open and Open Office is in the background, no problems - but if Open Office is in the foreground - nothing.

Suggestions??

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsofhon
General User
General User


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Volume control/media buttons do not work in Open Office Reply with quote

dsscott wrote:
As indicated in the title, the media buttons on my Dell Vostro 1400 do not work in Open Office. If another program window is open and Open Office is in the background, no problems - but if Open Office is in the foreground - nothing.

Suggestions??

Thanks.


Oh yes, I've got the same problem. I can't use my Rapoo desktop suite 8300 to change system volumn when i focus OpenOffice.org, but it works when I use the other application.

I'm running OOo on vista.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
usrthl
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 May 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the exact problem on a USB multi media keyboard connected to a laptop with WinXP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmtphoenix
General User
General User


Joined: 17 Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Location: AUSTIN

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:06 pm    Post subject: Yep Reply with quote

Same here, Vista, using a Logitech G15 keyboard. I'll poke around the web and see if I can find anything useful...this was the first thing Google showed me. If anyone else finds anything before I do, please post back here. Cool

Edit: It may be worth noting that this is obviously somewhat new, considering the lack of threads elsewhere on the net and the date of this one...

Edit again: Found this thread http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=14987&p=80842 -- They don't have a solution yet either, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsofhon
General User
General User


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sad are ooo users outliers? nobody cares about us...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillP
Super User
Super User


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 2703

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also seeing a problem with Go-oo 3.1 on Vista Home Premium. On my laptop, the media keys (play/pause, stop, next track, prev track), which use F9-F12 keys, do not work when OOo is in the foreground, but the volume controls, which use numeric keypad keys, do work.

On an old external MS Internet Keyboard Pro which has dedicated media keys, when OOo is in the foreground, the media keys all work except for next track and prev track.

There is a bug report malfunction of multimedia keyboard and a duplicate bug report Media keys on keyboard do not work in all OOo applications
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lazyspoon
General User
General User


Joined: 19 Sep 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Compaq Presario CQ-60 Laptop, same problem. =\
_________________
The Laziest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vedge
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here with my HP EliteBook 8530p on Windows 7 Business 64 bits...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chuck McKnight
General User
General User


Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The same thing happens to me with my Dell Inspiron E1505. Any solutions found yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eddie
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*BUMP* Rolling Eyes

Same problem here Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rockNme2349
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have found a temporary workaround for this problem using autohotkey.

Here is the code for the script:
Code:
#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetTitleMatchMode, 2 ;Text can be anywhere in the title name

#IfWinActive OpenOffice.org

Volume_Up::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Up}
WinActivate %current%
return

Volume_Down::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Down}
WinActivate %current%
return

Volume_Mute::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Mute}
WinActivate %current%
return


Basically if open office is active, and you press the volume keys, it will bring the taskbar to the foreground, send the volume key to the taskbar, and then reactivate the previous window. This has worked for me.

I uploaded a compiled version with the source code here: http://www.mediafire.com/?wm25nwz4wkn. If you aren't interested in how it works all you have to do is download that file, extract it and run the exe. It will sit in the taskbar and then you can use your volume keys normally. If you understandably don't want to run an random exe, you can download autohotkey from the link above, and just paste the code above into a new .ahk file and run that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimidinh
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rockNme2349 wrote:
I have found a temporary workaround for this problem using autohotkey.


Thank you, works like a charm!

I added support for other media keys (play/pause, stop, prev, next)

Code:
#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetTitleMatchMode, 2 ;Text can be anywhere in the title name

#IfWinActive OpenOffice.org

Volume_Up::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Up}
WinActivate %current%
return

Volume_Down::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Down}
WinActivate %current%
return

Volume_Mute::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Mute}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Next::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Next}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Prev::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Prev}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Play_Pause::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Play_Pause}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Stop::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Stop}
WinActivate %current%
return
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martin@radicalbody.com
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem on my HP Pavilion.

But Have anyone tried just to reinstall the sound card drivers?

Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jinno
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jul 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jimidinh wrote:
rockNme2349 wrote:
I have found a temporary workaround for this problem using autohotkey.


Thank you, works like a charm!

I added support for other media keys (play/pause, stop, prev, next)

Code:
#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetTitleMatchMode, 2 ;Text can be anywhere in the title name

#IfWinActive OpenOffice.org

Volume_Up::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Up}
WinActivate %current%
return

Volume_Down::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Down}
WinActivate %current%
return

Volume_Mute::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Volume_Mute}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Next::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Next}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Prev::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Prev}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Play_Pause::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Play_Pause}
WinActivate %current%
return

Media_Stop::
WinGetActiveTitle, current
WinActivate ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
Send {Media_Stop}
WinActivate %current%
return


Thank you ! Works like a charm ! Really easy to setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kangeezi
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Sep 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:28 pm    Post subject: Foobar2000 workaround for OpenOffice hotkeys Reply with quote

For the benefit of others searching for a solution to media hotkeys not working in OpenOffice, I want to add this workaround that I 'accidentally' discovered.

After getting fed up with the resource-hogging tendencies of Windows Media Player resulting in choppy audio whenever I had too many programs open, I went looking for a new player and settled on Foobar2000. In addition to being very light on system resources and incredibly customizable, it allows you to create keyboard shortcuts and make them Global.

1) Install Foobar2000, add your libraries and customize the layout however you want.
2) Go to File | Preferences | Keyboard Shortcuts, Add New > Playback menu > Pause (Next, Stop, etc), set it as Global, and assign whatever keys you want, including your keyboard's preset Media keys.

After a week of using Foobar2000, I'm disappointed I allowed myself to continue using WMP for so long.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group