OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

No Unicode when paste values from other Grid (?)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TAKIS
General User
General User


Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:47 am    Post subject: No Unicode when paste values from other Grid (?) Reply with quote

generally, on simple copy&paste from notepad working there is no problem.

but when I tried to copy row values from grid (.NET application) failed.

watch the video

Code:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/ztkxjn



thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert Tucker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 3407
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe the characters aren't Unicode; NotePad detects this but OpenOffice doesn't. Have you tried saving from NotePad checking the encoding is Unicode and then reopening the file? I notice you are using a database – the last time I used MySQL it did not use Unicode as the default. Have you checked the encoding used by the database?
_________________
OpenOffice 4.0.0 and LibreOffice 4.x.x on Fedora 20, Ubuntu 13.10, Windows 8.1 Preview (Triple Boot)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAKIS
General User
General User


Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:04 pm    Post subject: re Reply with quote

yes the grid is a resultset from MySQL.

Is nothing to do.

as you saw at movie, there is a /td> on cell something wrong at OOcalc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert Tucker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 3407
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Changing the default encoding to UTF-8 is probably something that greatly diminishes my inclination to play around with my dictionaries in MySQL. It's not something I remember how to do. These links may be useful, if you have not already found them:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/charset-unicode.html
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/charset-unicode.html
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3513773/change-mysql-default-character-set-to-utf8-in-my-cnf

Again, I can't remember if there is some way from phpMyAdmin; if there was it probably required more than the odd couple of mouse clicks.

Of course, if you are dealing with an already populated database the problem is many fold worse, see:

http://www.oreillynet.com/onlamp/blog/2006/01/turning_mysql_data_in_latin1_t.html/

Using NotePad on each copy/paste to change the encoding as I described above I believe should work; I'm not sure why OpenOffice does not pop a dialogue up when you try to paste.
_________________
OpenOffice 4.0.0 and LibreOffice 4.x.x on Fedora 20, Ubuntu 13.10, Windows 8.1 Preview (Triple Boot)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAKIS
General User
General User


Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:36 am    Post subject: re Reply with quote

there is nothing to do with MySQL!

also when I connect to SQLServer is the same result!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert Tucker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 3407
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:20 am    Post subject: Re: re Reply with quote

I'm not sure I will be able to solve the problem you are having but find these two statements rather contradictory:

TAKIS wrote:
yes the grid is a resultset from MySQL.


TAKIS wrote:
there is nothing to do with MySQL!

_________________
OpenOffice 4.0.0 and LibreOffice 4.x.x on Fedora 20, Ubuntu 13.10, Windows 8.1 Preview (Triple Boot)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAKIS
General User
General User


Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:10 pm    Post subject: you miss 2lines of this post Reply with quote

Quote:

yes the grid is a resultset from MySQL.

Is nothing to do.

as you saw at movie, there is a /td> on cell something wrong at OOcalc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert Tucker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 3407
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well in my opinion it's almost certain that you have an encoding problem; the database using ISO-8859-7 and OpenOffice UTF-8 being the most likely from the given information.

I suspect the /td> comes from an incomplete copy; somehow you are copying the last HTML tag but not the first so OpenOffice thinks the /td> is text which is in Latin ascii/ansi characters, of course.
_________________
OpenOffice 4.0.0 and LibreOffice 4.x.x on Fedora 20, Ubuntu 13.10, Windows 8.1 Preview (Triple Boot)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group