OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Why the excruciatingly long startup time ? (Linux at least)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 2:55 am    Post subject: Why the excruciatingly long startup time ? (Linux at least) Reply with quote

Can someone explain why such a looooong startup time under Linux (at least), and this problem was there right from birth ?

I've read reports that it's a glitch, others a minor setup problem and others saying it's a platform issue.

A decent startup time is absolutely essential for further adoption of OpenOffice !!

What are the problem causes, and why not much effort seen in totally eliminating such a critical issue ? I mean it's no use adding great little features if people don't use it...

I mean OS/2 was killed in the press because the install process was not as easy as windows (never mind that after that it ran flawlessly for years) ...

Why can't we eliminate this same-natured barrier to entry for Open-Office ?

Hoping to hear from you
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 9:05 am    Post subject: Re: Why the excruciatingly long startup time ? (Linux at lea Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
Can someone explain why such a looooong startup time under Linux (at least), and this problem was there right from birth ?


I have a p3 600mhz laptop running mandrake 9.1 with oo 1.1 rc2.
When I start oo I see the splash screen in a couple of seconds and the whole
startup is about 15 seconds (first time after reboot; faster after
that, maybe 8 seconds).

But I've noticed that if my wireless card is on but not connected to
the internet there is a 20 second delay before the splash screen
displays (then normal speed of startup). There is no cpu usage
during that initial 20 seconds. So there is some kind of networking
screwup in oo. I'd love a fix for this ...

But otherwise, with the 1.1 startup time is not that bad (not good,
but not that bad).
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah ! I see that "not connected" problem a lot also...

But in my system, I am connected to the Net and I still have the behaviour you describe when not connected. It's so strange... besides being infuriating.

It's already hard to force using an alternative in a MS Office infested world, especially in a business setting. I don't really need that extra productivity sapping startup problem every time I need to open a document...

This needs fixing URGENTLY !!
Back to top
avantman42
Super User
Super User


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might want to have a look at this post: http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2193&highlight=

I tried it on my home Linux box (512MB RAM) and my work Win98 box (64MB RAM). It helped on the Linux box, not on the Windows box, I suspect because the Windows box hasn't got much spare RAM.

Russ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smahomad
General User
General User


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope !

No help whatsoever....
although I only have 128 Mb.
_________________
--
Sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vwgtiturbo
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too am having this problem, and I can almost guarantee that it isn't the machine, as I think my box is quite capable of putting it together. I also have this problem on another machine, but it is a little slower of a system (1.33 Athlon, 512Mb RAM). I understand the frustration, believe me. Honestly though, I think all of the apps I run on my Linux box start a little slow, but OO is even worse than the majority...
_________________
Red Hat 9
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
AMD XP2500+ Barton OC'd to 2.29Ghz
1Gb Crucial TwinBank PC3200 DDR RAM
ATi All-in-Wonder 128 Pro AGP
120Gb Maxtor SATA with 8Mb cache
160Gb Maxtor with 8Mb cache, converted to SATA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Nom
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was told that RC3 is a lot faster at start up than RC2.

OO wants to check your internet connection before starting and this takes a lot of time.
To disable this go to :
Tools > Options > internet > and set the proxy to "NONE"

This should make things faster.

However RC3 is faster than this anyway...

Nom
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried all the fixes (and let me point out that none of them had consensus)

The proxy is already to NONE !
The memory is already to 30Mb!
I am connected to the corporate network!

And yet, there is still the big pause after invocation and before the spash screen...
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too have tried all these fixes without success.

I want to set openoffice so it DOES NOT check the internet before
trying to start (wtf good is that check for 90% of users anyway).

I set up a caching name server on my system and this helps a bit.
Now it is just every so often that oo waits 20 seconds before
starting the splash screen (I can't figure out why sometimes it's
fast and sometimes it's slow even with the name server running).

It opens quite fast when the delay does not occur. But why
can't this be fixed?

frustrated user ...
Back to top
Trak
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem, but the weird thing is that on my account it loads perfectly in a few seconds, but on my sister's account (in the same PC) It hangs after the main window apperas, i thought it was a problem related with KDE but even with ICEWM stilll happens, i have done the memory thing, the proxy also, but I think it's something related with my Printer. But i don't know what it is since it works fine on the other account.

I'm under Mandrake 10.0 on a P4 2 Ghz with 512 Mb of Ram.

Any suggestions ??Question

Thanks in advance

Trak
Back to top
cwchia
Super User
Super User


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 1050
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have a look at this:

http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2800&highlight=

Hope that help.

Good luck and have fun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group