OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

GO TO > SPECIAL really needed and can't find it in Calc 2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
digitaltoast
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:41 am    Post subject: GO TO > SPECIAL really needed and can't find it in Calc 2 Reply with quote

Looks like the equivelant of Excel's GO TO > SPECIAL could save me a night's work, except I just can't find it! It belongs under Edit in Excel (which I don't have at home). I've tried inbuilt help. I feel stupid because it must be staring me in the face, I just can't see where!
OO 1.9.122 - thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ms777
Super User
Super User


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 1355

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

some of the Excel Goto Special Functionality you find under the Navigator (Compass Symbol), but not all ...

Where do you want to got to ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitaltoast
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ms777 wrote:
some of the Excel Goto Special Functionality you find under the Navigator (Compass Symbol), but not all ...

Where do you want to got to ?


Blanks, so I can do the "pulldown data to blanks until next data", ie:
Quote:
"Filling in the blank cells quickly and easily
The GoTo special command is extremely useful when you receive a data dump from a main line system where the categories are staggered so that each row does NOT contain all the required information e.g.
Cat 1- subcat1
subcat2
subcat3
Cat 2- subcat1 etc"

Video at: http://www.auditexcel.co.za/dataclean.html (4th video down).

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ms777
Super User
Super User


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 1355

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great - if I had known of that Excel functionality, I would have saved lots of work some years ago ...

I do not see any equivalent in OO. Neither a simple search for empty cells, nor a possibility to enter a formula at the same time in a multiple area selection. You would have to write a simple 10 lines macro for that

ms777
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitaltoast
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ms777 wrote:
Great - if I had known of that Excel functionality, I would have saved lots of work some years ago ...

I do not see any equivalent in OO. Neither a simple search for empty cells, nor a possibility to enter a formula at the same time in a multiple area selection. You would have to write a simple 10 lines macro for that


Guess what I found?! Smile
http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/hillview/OOo/
specifically
http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/hillview/OOo/IannzGotoSpecial.sxc
Looks like it does just what I need, but here's where I'm becoming a bit thick!
Despite reading http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=7995 , I'm stuck as to how to install a globally visible macro to a button, in OO2. Can someone talk me through it?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ms777
Super User
Super User


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 1355

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably its best to install a new menu item rather than a button ? The Menu item will always be visible, whenever you open calc.

Here the procedure for assigning a macro to a menu item (for assigning to a button, goto design mode, right click on the button in Iannz doc, and check the events settings ...):

Tools / Customize / Menus
Select Edit in Menu
Go down to e.g. fill
Add
Category: browse down to the bottom, select OO.org Macros
Select the makro / OK


But I am still in doubt, if entering the formula in one cell will fill it over the whole selection, when the selection consists of multiple areas ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group