OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Disappearing controls on form

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mad4co
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:23 pm    Post subject: Disappearing controls on form Reply with quote

I'm still trying to get the hang of this, so please bear with me. Why do all controls except my key field disappear when I save a form then reopen it? They stll seem to be there, as clicking on the form in design view shows the green corner handles, but I can't see them or print them.

Also, can anyone point me to a "how to" (or better still, an example database) for Using OOo data source to set up a relational database with primary keys, with a subform, and the main form record selected via a combo box? I can't get the macro to link named parameters (in the how_to_link_tables_using_named_parameters.sxw documentation) to run without errors, or be able to set a primary key (greyed out when I copy the table).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Howard Oates
Back to top
avantman42
Super User
Super User


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 1:34 am    Post subject: Re: Disappearing controls on form Reply with quote

mad4co wrote:
Also, can anyone point me to a "how to" (or better still, an example database) for Using OOo data source to set up a relational database with primary keys, with a subform, and the main form record selected via a combo box? I can't get the macro to link named parameters (in the how_to_link_tables_using_named_parameters.sxw documentation) to run without errors, or be able to set a primary key (greyed out when I copy the table).


I'm not sure what's happening with the disappearing controls, but this page might help you get to grips with setting up a relational database, subform, etc:
http://www.graemewi.orcon.net.nz/OOo/crm.html

The problem with named parameters may be the one described here:
http://dba.openoffice.org/howto/param_subst.html

If it is, I wrote a GUI to set the ParameterNameSubstituion value, plus some other data source settings that can only be set via a macro. It can be found here:
http://www.ooomacros.org/files.php?type=macro#AdvancedDataSourceSettingsGUI

Russ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mad4co
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 2:55 am    Post subject: Thanks ! Reply with quote

Thanks very much for the links - that will get me going when I've downloaded the extra bits I need. I still can't find a way around the disappearing form controls - I get the same behaviour on both Win 98SE and WinXP machines. Is it just an option I've missed? If I can work out how to do it, I could show a couple of screen shots.
Back to top
avantman42
Super User
Super User


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really don't know what is happening with the disappearing controls. This page will tell you how to take a screen shot:
http://graphicssoft.about.com/cs/general/ht/winscreenshot.htm

To show the screen shot on this forum, it has to be hosted on a web server, then you can either post a link to the file, or use something similar to the following BBCode:
[img]http://www.phpbb.com/images/phplogo.gif[/img]
(see http://www.oooforum.org/forum/faq.php?mode=bbcode#9 for more information)

Russ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ibarton
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:02 am    Post subject: Same Problem Reply with quote

I had a similar problem to what you are describing so instead of giving the value to the form control I had to assign it to the form row. The code I used was:

'get a Form object
Form = getForm("Invoice")

'set my invoice (first field in table) to next available
Form.updateInt(1,getNextInvoice())

'set my description (fourth field in table) to default
Form.updateString(4,"default description")

I am not sure if this will fix your problem (as my issue was slightly different). Good luck,
Back to top
veru
Power User
Power User


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I am struggling with the same problem. Did you find a solution?

Verena
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group