OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum

[Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

[Solved] Base Crashes With >19,000 line table
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bizzork
General User
General User

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:28 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Base Crashes With >19,000 line table Reply with quote

First off, I am a noob, so I apologize in advance. I have a table that is 19,000+ lines long, and otherwise unnotable (actually possibly some of the fields are set up with inordinately large cell capacities, but I personally don't think they're the issue). Once I broke the 19k threshhold, Base started crashing after entering a few lines of new data. I would strongly prefer to keep the data I'm entering in one table. The data will eventually get to around 150,000 rows of 14 columns each.

If Base did not repeatedly crash (and occasionally wipe out 100+ new lines), I would have no problem with keeping the table in Base, as it is otherwise a good fit for my needs. That being said, I'm betting that I am overloading Base and can't count on it to handle this many rows. My next idea is to export the table's data out of Base (either into Excel or Access), however this does not seem to work with a copy/paste option. Is there a way I can get the data out of Base and into another database format, or is there anything you could recommend to stave off the crashes?

Last edited by Bizzork on Mon May 09, 2011 5:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Sliderule
Super User
Super User

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me answer you in two ways, a SHORT term answer, and, a LONG term answer.