OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Using semicolon within functions [solved]

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JakeBonfield
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Using semicolon within functions [solved] Reply with quote

I'm relatively new to OpenOffice as I use MS Office 2007 at work, however I've recently been playing with OpenOffice at home. I sent a spreadsheet from work to home, but I have been having some trouble with OpenOffice using semi-colons as function seperators.

I am unable to get a Vlookup function to work with an array that consists of two non adjacent columns. I believe this is because the semi colon used to define the array will move the function on to the next argument.

If I try to prevent this issue by surrounding the array argument in brackets, the semicolon automatically changes to a tilde symbol (~) and returns the error "Err:504".

Does anybody know if there is a way I can get this formula to work, or if this is not possible with OpenOffice? I've tried searching online, but can't seem to find anything. I've included a simplified example below.

A 11
B 22
C 33
D 44

=VLOOKUP(33;A1:A4;B1:B4;1) #too many semi colons
=VLOOKUP(33;(A1:A4~B1:B4);1) #returns "Err:504"

Thanks,

Jake


Last edited by JakeBonfield on Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:40 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozzie
OOo Advocate
OOo Advocate


Joined: 29 Jul 2010
Posts: 400
Location: victoria

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not an expert, but does this do what you want
Code:
=VLOOKUP(33;A1:B4;2;0)

_________________
If your problem has been solved please add "[Solved]" to the beginning of your first post title (edit button).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JakeBonfield
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the spreadsheet I'm working on, the two columns are not next to each other.

Last edited by JakeBonfield on Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ken johnson
Super User
Super User


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 2032
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JakeBonfield wrote:
In the spreadsheet I'm working on, the two rows are not next to each other.

You seem to be confusing rows with columns.

Ken Johnson
_________________
If your problem has been solved please add "[Solved]" to the beginning of your first post title (edit button).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JakeBonfield
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, my mistake, I've corrected my other posts. I'll try to blame that on making the posts late at night and when I woke up...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
range
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Jan 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think VLOOKUP() allows non-contiguous ranges, but you can include the non-relevant columns in your range and use the INDEX parameter to read the correct column.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JakeBonfield
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

range wrote:
I don't think VLOOKUP() allows non-contiguous ranges, but you can include the non-relevant columns in your range and use the INDEX parameter to read the correct column.


Thank you, I hadn't thought of just including the other columns. I'll mark this as solved, but out of curiousity, do you know why the semicolon was changed to a ~ automatically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard24
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 08 Jul 2011
Posts: 100
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://help.libreoffice.org/Calc/Operators_in_Calc#Reference_operators
_________________
LibreOffice 3.5.0 on Windows Vista
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group