OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

(solved) Libreoffice .. Install doesn't work for me

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bandsp
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Telford

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:02 am    Post subject: (solved) Libreoffice .. Install doesn't work for me Reply with quote

Been using Open Office since whenever & Star office before that ..

I am trying to install Libreoffice as that appears to be the way to go, but it just wont hackle for me ..

Using Windows 7 Home (with administrator powers) on a Dell Inspiron Laptop ..

I downloaded 3.5.5 (both .MSI & .exe) .. installation goes through to window saying the features chosen are being load which may take a long time (or words to that effect) the a little window comes up saying 'exit libreoffice 3.5 .... before continuing' .. click OK on that window and the whole installation stops ..

Not a good introduction!!

any ideas for getting it to work please?


Last edited by bandsp on Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasjk
Super User
Super User


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 2374

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use task manager and on the processes tab terminate any soffice processes. Also make sure you have exited the Quickstarter. That's the OOo icon in the system tray. Also try right clicking on the install file and select Run As Administrator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandsp
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Telford

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thought I had replied to to this .. apparently not ..

Thanks .. that fixed the install ..

Only tried Calc so far .. a few funnies .. On some existing files I dont see, nor am I able to get, the cell default borders..

thomasjk wrote:
Use task manager and on the processes tab terminate any soffice processes. Also make sure you have exited the Quickstarter. That's the OOo icon in the system tray. Also try right clicking on the install file and select Run As Administrator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group