OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum

[Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Help with macro design/import spreadsheets and GUI design

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Macros and API
View previous topic :: View next topic  
twash

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:23 am    Post subject: Help with macro design/import spreadsheets and GUI design Reply with quote

Hi all

First off I'm new here so I apologize in advance if I am doing something wrong...

I am trying to design a macro for OOo Calc. This is my first ever macro, and I have read Andrew Pitonyaks excellent guide on OOo Macros Explained. Unfortunately what I am trying to accomplish is a little more difficult than writing "Hello World". I have limited experience with C, C# and Java, but it is a while ago since I used any of it. So basically I am looking for all the help I can get.

The problem:
I have 2 spreadsheets and I want to compare the two lists and output the differences in a 3rd spreadsheet. Each spreadsheet contains a number of parameters for a given component, the first column expresses the specific component, the next couple of columns hold the component specific parameters.

1. I want the user to be able to import two spreadsheets to compare, preferably using a GUI. Both spreadsheets are formatted in the same way.
2. I want the macro to detect discrepancies in the list; for component A001 has parameter A, B, C or D changed? If so, what is the change? Has the component been added or deleted compared to the reference list? etc.
3. The output should be a list of the components that has changed, and a description of what was changed.