OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

a keyboard shortcut to insert new line?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nonsence
General User
General User


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:05 pm    Post subject: a keyboard shortcut to insert new line? Reply with quote

is there a a keyboard shortcut to insert new line?

also anyone got any docs on a full list of possible keyboard shortcuts?

btw i'm using the Windows version of OpenOffice
_________________
MCP, Network+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
8daysaweek.co.uk
Super User
Super User


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 2130
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To insert a new line in a cell:
Ctrl + Enter
Works only if the cursor is placed in the cell, not in the input line.

If you are referring to inserting a new row, then no, I don't think that there is a keyboard shortcut, but if you go to Tools > Configure you can easily assign Insert Rows to any key combination you want.

HTH Smile,
_________________
James
www.8daysaweek.co.uk - A User-Focused OOo site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
DiGro
Super User
Super User


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 1415
Location: Hoorn NH, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the Shortcut-list of useable keys in OOo search the Help for "shortcuts"
(mind you: I'm on Dutch build so my shortcuts are named "sneltoetsen" , so they might have
sligthly different name, but they are in the Help)

DiGro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BookLady
Super User
Super User


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 727

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or give a look at that Tools>Configure which 8daysaweek mentioned. All the shortcuts are shown there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonsence
General User
General User


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 1:12 pm    Post subject: thanks Reply with quote

super nice! thanks everyone. now i got ctrl+a setup for inserting a new row Very Happy
_________________
MCP, Network+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr_smyle
General User
General User


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:01 am    Post subject: Why Ctrl++ is not work? Reply with quote

I assign Insert>New Row commant on Ctrl++ and this combination not work. Why?
I pressed Ctrl+Shift+= and Ctrl++ the same effect.

--
Anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillP
Super User
Super User


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 2703

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:48 am    Post subject: Re: Why Ctrl++ is not work? Reply with quote

AGB wrote:
I assign Insert>New Row commant on Ctrl++ and this combination not work. Why?
I pressed Ctrl+Shift+= and Ctrl++ the same effect.

--
Anthony


It works for me using + on the numeric keypad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr_smyle
General User
General User


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 8:39 am    Post subject: Re: Why Ctrl++ is not work? Reply with quote

BillP wrote:
It works for me using + on the numeric keypad.


Well, it works but it is very uncomfortable to reach numerickeypad+ from Ctrl with one hand.
Why does not work Ctrl+Shift+= ?? like in Excel.

--
Best, Anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Why Ctrl++ is not work? Reply with quote

AGB wrote:
BillP wrote:
It works for me using + on the numeric keypad.


Well, it works but it is very uncomfortable to reach numerickeypad+ from Ctrl with one hand.
Why does not work Ctrl+Shift+= ?? like in Excel.

--
Best, Anthony

Because this is a completely different software, even if it does mostly the same stuff.
Call Menu:Tools>Cuatomize,Tab:Keyboard
Set the focus into the big top-left box and hit the desired combination of keys.
Assign a new action to the key.
I use Ctrl+Insert with Category:Insert, Function:"Insert Rows"
and Ctrl+Insert with Category:Edit, Function:"Delete Rows"
This was hard to find because of the different categories. The availlable slots are limited, but notice the option to save your individual settings in files. I use two sets of shortcuts with Calc. One for creation of calculation models and editing, another one for formatting and re-arranging stuff. The overall openoffice-shortcuts override the application-specific ones and I believe they should be saved in different files (I did not touch them until now).
"Insert Rows/Columns" and "Delete Rows/Columns" works with direct neighbouring rows and columns if you set Menu:Tools>Options>Calc>General, "Expand References when new columns/rows are inserted". This will expand a named range or database-range if you add another row below and it changes for instance =SUM($A$1:$A$100) to =SUM($A$1:$B$100) after insertion at column B.
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group