OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum

[Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

How to copy complex content in C++ or Java?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Macros and API
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Augur

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 11:45 pm    Post subject: How to copy complex content in C++ or Java? Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm new to OOo dev. I've searched during days on OOoForum and dev mailing list archives. I found pieces of answer, but these elements were not alway very clear.

I need to integrate OOo into my application, and be able to generate OWriter documents from data of my software. The thing is that I want to let the user create its own template, in order that it is not hard coded in my app.

I will give to the user the opportunity of inserting predefined user text field in the template. I'll then replace those fields automatically with the corresponding values.

My problems come with data repetition. For example, let's say that my application manages a contact list. The user creates a new template in order to generate a full address book. To be more readable, each field beginning by a $ is a user TextField (even if it isn't valid to put a $ in a field name). So, he designes a template like this:

----------------------MY ADDRESS BOOK ---------------------

$BEGIN_REPEAT
---------------------------------------------------------------------
| $LASTNAME $FIRSTNAME
| $ADDRESS
|
| phone : $PHONE
| email : $EMAIL
$END_REPEAT

Then, I want to load the template, detect the content between the BEGIN/END _REPEAT markup, and copy it as many times that I have contact entries in my app.

So here are my questions: