OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Error message on Startup

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
liqid
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:26 am    Post subject: Error message on Startup Reply with quote

All I see from OOo is this:

Is there maybe a logfile which could give me a hint what causes this?

Specs:
Intel P4 2.8 Ghz
1024 MB RAM
Windows XP SP2
OOo 2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppyo
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Location: Charlotte NC

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:48 am    Post subject: Startup error Reply with quote

Exactly same thing happens to me.
I have Mandriva 2005. I installed OO 2.0.1 after uninstalling 1.0.1. I su'ed from my user account into root and did the rpm -Uvh to avoid the dependencies going in circles...
Funny thing is that of course root can run OO without problems, as well as my user account. Any other account cannot run and gives me the same error msg you got.
I searched for a logfile, but found none...
Help!!! Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
JohnV
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 9183
Location: Lexinton, Kentucky, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

liqid,

I think there could be several possiblities here.

You could have installed as Admin without selecting to install for all users and you are now trying to start OOo as another user. Can you start it as Admin?

You could simply have a bad installation. Try going the Control Panel, Add/Delete Software and try a Repair when offered the chance. You may be able to fix the problem above this way also - just a guess though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liqid
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Meanwhile I "sort of" fixed it by simply updating to 2.0.1. Thing is though this wasn't the first time this happened and just a reinstall could fix it.
You might say that this can be fixed so it isn't a problem. Still. This is one of the most shallow error message I've seen so far. In fact it could go right into a galery with all the error messages telling you that you have an "error: no error occured", if you know where I'm getting at.

If you don't: @the developers: Fix this! Please. Thanks!
At least make the error message more clear, ie what exactly is the error and what caused it.

Nevertheless, thanks for the feedback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group