OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

OOBase and LOBs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
janpla
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Feb 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:16 am    Post subject: OOBase and LOBs Reply with quote

Is there a way to represent LOBs (large objects) in a form? Or any way to enter/retrieve them from the database, that interfaces nicely with a form?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrewJensen
Super User
Super User


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 2616
Location: Cumberland, MD

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if it is a Memo field cLOB or an image file bLOB then yes.

There is an image control and a text box can be tied to a memo field and set to multi-line display.

In the example database I listed at the top of the forum I show how to work with both of these. The form wizard will not place either of these correctly, but it is very easy to do so by hand.

Drew
_________________
Blog - http://baseanswers.spaces.live.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
janpla
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Feb 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gret - thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janpla
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Feb 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried creating a simple table in Oracle:

create table ex(
id number primary key,
descr clob
);

- then I created a form with those two columns - the ID field is a number control, and the descr is a multiline text control. I can enter data in both fields, but when I move to the next row only the ID field is saved; the descr is just blanked out. Altso, I noticed it isn't possible to set the limit on the text control very high - certainly not as high as what you can enter in a clob in Oracle.

Am I doing it wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrewJensen
Super User
Super User


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 2616
Location: Cumberland, MD

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, I did not have oracle on this machine so could not test against it..

I have lots of past Oracle experience however, so went an grabbed a copy of the express engine..I'll see if I can figure out what is going on.
_________________
Blog - http://baseanswers.spaces.live.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group