OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum

[Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Saving files is very slow...why?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Writer
View previous topic :: View next topic  
thesun
General User
General User

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:30 am    Post subject: Saving files is very slow...why? Reply with quote

Hi...I am confused about why my FC5 version of Open Office is taking so long to save its files. I have the autosave feature turned on and (I'm a writer) it saves the info every minute. However (I'm using OO2.0.1) it is extremely slow saving the file...and, much like Windoze, I can't use the system while it's saving. I have only a 100 page document...I can't imagine the annoyance that a 200 or 300 page novel would cause.

What's the problem, why is it so slow, and what (if anything) can be done about it? I really don't want to move the autosave to anything greater than a few minutes, either, though I realize that's an option. I have the "make backup copy" option turned on. I have tried both the .odt and .doc formats; both seem pretty slow.

Thank you for any help or suggestions. Confused
thesun
General User
General User

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:16 pm    Post subject: A follow up... Reply with quote

Interestingly enough, this slowness is only for the timed autosave, not for the regular save (if I click "Save"). Clicking on the "Save" button results in a quick, zippy save. It's only the autosave that is frustratingly and distractingly slow...

Thanks for any and all help!!
foxcole
Super User
Super User

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:51 pm    Post subject: Re: A follow up... Reply with quote

thesun wrote: