OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

opening up a form from the getgo

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fritzb
General User
General User


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Pacific Northwest US

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:16 pm    Post subject: opening up a form from the getgo Reply with quote

Now then, Let's say I have the database established, table and form ready to go. How does one open the form? There must be a way to put an icon on the desktop that I can point to which my computer challenged, great grandmother aged 102 can push and start entering the stuff she will leave me in her will?

Let's say the table in oobase is called 'AllherStuff' and the form is called 'stuff4me'
I tried calling the ODB by name with the form as an arg but doesn't work.
Must be some way to do it?
Any help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickcarroll
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Location: Ottawa, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 1:54 am    Post subject: Opening a form from the desktop Reply with quote

I guess there is no way. I was looking for that too. I used to work with Paradox and it was easy. Oh well.
_________________
Rick Carroll's Photography
http://www.rickcarroll.ca/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Open your form which is an ordinary Writer document stored in the Base document (a zip archive actually).
File>Save As... <some place>
Close the form
Open the file
View>Toolbars>Form Design
Turn on edit mode (button #2)
Turn on the form navigator (button #5)
Get the form properties, tab "Data"
Click the [...] near "Data Source", connect the form to the database file. If the database is a registered one you may pick the registered name from the combo box.
Specify the table, query or SQL statement respectively.
Reconnect all the form's subforms in the same manner if any.
Save the document.
Close the document.
Revoke write permissions from the file so the document gets loaded in the same read-only status as the embedded form.

Create ordinary desktop links, hyperlinks to other forms or even subforms to pull related data from other databases.
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org


Last edited by Villeroy on Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgroover
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done as you've listed but I still don't see any data when I open the document, just an empty one instead. Suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No suggestions. Works for me ever since version 1 (when all forms were made like this).
Obviously you did not manage to reconnect the form properly.
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved here: [Solved] One final file
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bagpuss
General User
General User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

How can you make the "Data Source" relative? When I move a folder with the Base database and Writer form to a new location, the Data Source is still fixed to the old location of the Base file.
_________________
OpenOffice portable version 3.2
Windows XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

Your question is not complete clear but maybe this.

menu --> Tools-->Options

In the new popup

OpenOffice.org Base --> Database
Select there the name of the registrated database and point the name to the new location.


It is not relative as you asked but only point it to the new location

Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bagpuss
General User
General User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick reply.

I am sharing a database with colleagues through dropbox (online file sharing repository). I would like them to be able to open up the data entry form in Writer and for this to automatically link to the database.

Their location for the database will be different since their dropbox folders do not reflect my file structure. What's more I'm on a PC and they're on a mac.

Is it a matter of them registering the database in their OO and then all will be well?

Thanks
_________________
OpenOffice portable version 3.2
Windows XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They are unable to specify the location of the database they just downloaded?
Quote:
Is it a matter of them registering the database in their OO and then all will be well?

Yes, of course. Why not?
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rod Engelsman
General User
General User


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Villeroy wrote:
They are unable to specify the location of the database they just downloaded?


Dropbox (www.dropbox.com) is a very cool, open-source based, automatic backup/file-sharing service. When you install the program it creates a folder in your home directory (whatever that amounts to for your OS) called "Dropbox" or "My Dropbox". Anything you put in there is automatically encrypted and uploaded to a secure cloud storage (Amazon S3, IIRC). Then you can install Dropbox on other computers and link them all to the same account. Anything that goes into any of the Dropboxes gets uploaded to the cloud and then downloaded to the other machines automatically. I've installed it on my and the wife's laptops and just drop anything important into the folder. Voila! Automagically backed up on her machine and in the cloud.

So, no, they really aren't able to specify the location, but they also don't really download it either. It just shows up in the Box if they're connected to the Net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Open the form.
FIle>Properties...tab #1
There you find the path to register the linked database if the lack of relative paths is the problem.
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glj
Power User
Power User


Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Villeroy wrote:
Open your form which is an ordinary Writer document stored in the Base document (a zip archive actually).
File>Save As... <some place>
Close the form
Open the file
View>Toolbars>Form Design
Turn on edit mode (button #2)
Turn on the form navigator (button #5)
Get the form properties, tab "Data"
Click the [...] near "Data Source", connect the form to the database file. If the database is a registered one you may pick the registered name from the combo box.
Reconnect all the form's subforms in the same manner if any.
Save the document.
Close the document.
Revoke write permissions from the file so the document gets loaded in the same read-only status as the embedded form.

I discovered that when the subform's Content Type is Query, the Content field loses the query name. So I had to restore the Content field for each subform.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I discovered that when the subform's Content Type is Query, the Content field loses the query name. So I had to restore the Content field for each subform.

Indeed, you have to reconnect the form with the database and the content within the database (table, query or SQL statement).
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group