OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Multiple columns in combo box problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jasondodd
General User
General User


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Colo, Iowa

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:50 pm    Post subject: Multiple columns in combo box problem Reply with quote

Hi all,

Quick question on something I've found I can't do. In M$ excel, I frequently use a combo box displaying the contents of column1 while reporting the contents of column2 into a linked cell. (in excel, this is the bound column of a 2-column count)

I can't find a way to show the info from one column in a table in the combo box while reporting the corresponding value from column 2 into the linked cell. Is this possible? Thanks

Example table

Retail 5%
Early 7%
Late 10%
(be able to pick Retail, Early, or Late from the combo box, while reporting 5,7, or 10% to the linked cell.

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RickRandom
Super User
Super User


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 1082
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you describe how you do this in Excel? Then someone here can probably "translate" your method into Calc.

In either program, I'd probably use VLOOKUP().
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasondodd
General User
General User


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Colo, Iowa

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure,

In excel, you create the combo box, then go to it's properties. There you similarly list the list range source, and the linked cell, but in excel's properties, you have the abilility to say number of columns, bound column(the one to report to the linked cell), and column widths(can specify with widths to only show one). The main difference is that in excel this is using a VB control and not a form control I believe.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Villeroy
Super User
Super User


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 10106
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

List/Combo-boxes cant have multiple columns but this may help you to fake one: http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=30863&highlight=listbox
_________________
Rest in peace, oooforum.org
Get help on https://forum.openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group