OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

running ooffice macros without a display (runlevel 3).

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Macros and API
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thundergod989
General User
General User


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:49 am    Post subject: running ooffice macros without a display (runlevel 3). Reply with quote

any suggestions?

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mnasato
Power User
Power User


Joined: 26 Apr 2005
Posts: 54
Location: London, U.K.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:13 am    Post subject: Re: running ooffice macros without a display (runlevel 3). Reply with quote

The magic word is "xvfb". Try searching for it in this forum... Wink

Cheers

Mirko
--
JOOConverter - The Open Source Java/OpenOffice Document Converter
JOOReports - The Open Source Java/OpenOffice Document and Report Generator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thundergod989
General User
General User


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yaya i got it thanks lol.

was trying to run it with lowercase x GOD damn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herringbone
General User
General User


Joined: 02 Aug 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Mirko,

I've been working on a project using the OO.o api and making a fancy report, I can't wait to look through your JOOReports and see if I can throw away some code.

But I also can't wait to ask if you know of a way to get OO.o to connect to multiple xvfb's, one for each open document window. We were generating documents concurrently in multiple windows, but ran afoul of the system clipboard in copy/paste operations and had to synchronize some slow areas of the code.

I realize X doesn't provide multiple DISPLAY variables to a single app, but maybe there is a trick?

Thanks,
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
mnasato
Power User
Power User


Joined: 26 Apr 2005
Posts: 54
Location: London, U.K.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

herringbone wrote:
I realize X doesn't provide multiple DISPLAY variables to a single app, but maybe there is a trick?


Nope, I think it's just not possible.

Cheers

Mirko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hol.sten
Super User
Super User


Joined: 14 Nov 2004
Posts: 3533
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

herringbone wrote:
But I also can't wait to ask if you know of a way to get OO.o to connect to multiple xvfb's, one for each open document window.

As far as I know Xvfb has the capability, like any other X server, to handle multiple windows.

herringbone wrote:
I realize X doesn't provide multiple DISPLAY variables to a single app, but maybe there is a trick?

Why should X provide that? One X server is capable to handle multiple windows.

herringbone wrote:
We were generating documents concurrently in multiple windows,

I guess that your problem arises from concurrently generating documents. OOo cannot handle that in a reliable way: http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=2913

With kind regards
hol.sten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Macros and API All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group