OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum

[Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

How do I get to the data in my database?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RetiredInMaine
General User
General User

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: How do I get to the data in my database? Reply with quote

This is my first time on this forum. In looking over prior threads I see my problem is similar to many that of many others. But I don't see any solutions. Maybe I'm just dense.

I have some club member data in a spread sheet that I want to be able to update and create views to link with OOo mail merge, actually I want to create mailing labels. I was able to connect to the spread sheet and convert it to an .odb file, but it always opens in read only mode. I then went to the trouble of importing the data to an MySQL data base, but now I can't connect to or open that data base.

I have read through several threads on this forum with similar problems. Some of them imply that base can open an MySQL db, but when I try it does not show MySQL as one of the options. When I tied to connect, as opposed to open, there is a mysql choice, but than I am asked if I want odbc or jdbc. When I choose odbc it asks me for the data source. I'm not really sure what this means, does it imply that I need an aplication of some sort? or does it just want a driver? I tried giving it the full path name of my db but it didn't much like that. It tells me it can't make the connection.

Also whenever I open base it always takes me to the database wizard. Is there any way to just open the form without going through the wizard?