OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Laptop Touchpad and OpenOffice.org...
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
8daysaweek.co.uk
Super User
Super User


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 2130
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: Laptop Touchpad and OpenOffice.org... Reply with quote

I have friend who has installed OOo from my recommendation - definitely an "End User/Newbie" with computers Wink - but getting on well with it so far.

The only things he's asked me about is scrolling with his laptop touchpad, his hp computer has a special "scroll area" on the right of the pad where moving your finger up and down will scroll the page.

He says it works with all other programs but not OOo - can anyone think of a reason why this might be?

TIA
_________________
James
www.8daysaweek.co.uk - A User-Focused OOo site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The following worked for me...

Go into SynTPEnh.ini and add this block anywhere -

[OpenOffice]
WT = "*OpenOffice*"
SF = 0x10000000
SF |= 0x00004000
Back to top
8daysaweek.co.uk
Super User
Super User


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 2130
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. As it happens I've changed my laptop since I posted and now have the same behaviour on that!

I found 2 instances of the file you mentioned on my computer, in:
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynP
and
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynP\Media

Which should I edit, or both? Can you explain a little more what this block does please?

TIA,
_________________
James
www.8daysaweek.co.uk - A User-Focused OOo site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jiro
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I found 2 instances of the file you mentioned on my computer, in: C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynP and C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynP\Media

Which should I edit, or both?


I edited both files - which were in any case identical files - and the fix WORKS GREAT. this is a major plus for OOo's usability (now if they could only get text selection set up right...)
Back to top
RolloM
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jiro wrote:
Quote:

I found 2 instances of the file you mentioned on my computer, in: C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynP and C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynP\Media

Which should I edit, or both?


I edited both files - which were in any case identical files - and the fix WORKS GREAT. this is a major plus for OOo's usability (now if they could only get text selection set up right...)


With my TP X31 this does not help (these files do not exist). Neither does editing the tp4table.dat file that is suggested in other threads. Does anyone have another way, or a detailed description of what has to be done?

Thank you

R.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RolloM
General User
General User


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2005 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RolloM wrote:


With my TP X31 this does not help (these files do not exist). Neither does editing the tp4table.dat file that is suggested in other threads. Does anyone have another way, or a detailed description of what has to be done?


Ok, I finally found the solution to get Thinkpad Trackpoint scrolling to work with Openoffce.

Open the file tp4table.dat in the directory \windows\system32\ using Editor.

Before the following line:
;; Pass 1 rules (These rules run last)

insert the following line:

*,*,soffice.bin,*,*,*,WheelStd,0,9

Take care, its soffice.bin, not soffice.exe...

If this does not help, repeat the same procedure with the file tp4table.dat in c:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP. It seems that newer driver versions use this file.

Regards

R.


Last edited by RolloM on Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lderooy
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ended up modifying both files and it now works for my ThinkPad T42.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nopino
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lderooy wrote:
I ended up modifying both files and it now works for my ThinkPad T42.

Thanks!


hi,

i have the same problem as you on ibm tp t41, but there wroted recomendetions cant help me. can i ask you for yout hw/sw configuration (my cfg is t41/wxpsp2 cz/oo 2.0 RC1)

thanks

nopino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MI'RA
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nopino wrote:
i have the same problem as you on ibm tp t41, but there wroted recomendetions cant help me. can i ask you for yout hw/sw configuration (my cfg is t41/wxpsp2 cz/oo 2.0 RC1)


I have a IBM R40/wxpproSP2/oo 2.0 RC2. My solution is few rows below:

RolloM wrote:
Open the file tp4table.dat in the directory \windows\system32\ using Editor.

Before the following line:
;; Pass 1 rules (These rules run last)

insert the following line:

*,*,soffice.bin,*,*,*,WheelStd,0,9

Take care, its soffice.bin, not soffice.exe...


This works for me. But inserting line to the SynTPenh.ini file doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nopino
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MI'RA wrote:
nopino wrote:
i have the same problem as you on ibm tp t41, but there wroted recomendetions cant help me. can i ask you for yout hw/sw configuration (my cfg is t41/wxpsp2 cz/oo 2.0 RC1)


I have a IBM R40/wxpproSP2/oo 2.0 RC2. My solution is few rows below:

RolloM wrote:
Open the file tp4table.dat in the directory \windows\system32\ using Editor.

Before the following line:
;; Pass 1 rules (These rules run last)

insert the following line:

*,*,soffice.bin,*,*,*,WheelStd,0,9

Take care, its soffice.bin, not soffice.exe...


This works for me. But inserting line to the SynTPenh.ini file doesn't work.


thanks, i tryed it yesterday, dosnt works, but today still works. thanks for help, cu at newest open office Smile

nopino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cristobalmiguelo
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Found the solution for my Synaptics pad on a Firefox forum Reply with quote

Hello,

I upgraded to the latest version of the Synaptics driver and both Firefox and OpenOffice scroll feature on the touchpad worked.

Give it a shot.

http://www.synaptics.com/support/drive.cfm

-C
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ri Mas
General User
General User


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:21 am    Post subject: scrolling w touchpad Reply with quote

Nice to know that some one solved his problem with touchpad scrolling, but not me. My Fujitsu-Siemens have some other type of Touchpad and neither of sugestions worked for me. Is it possible totally eliminate the problem instead of looking for workarounds.

Would be very nice... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eric1234
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:59 am    Post subject: IBM Thinkpad T23 Trackpoint Reply with quote

Hi,

I am new to OO, and have done a quick search, and this seems to be the most comprehensive string on my issue...

I have an IBM Thinkpad T23 with the trackpoint device. I am also basically in love with OO, except that I can't scroll with it. My T23 is a Windows 2000 machine - if that information helps.

I can't find any of the files referenced above on my computer (I did a search of my hard drive).

Is there anyone with any experience that might be able to help me figure out how to get this going on the T23? I would be most appreciative.

Thank you!
Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eric1234
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 7:42 pm    Post subject: I FOUND IT!!! Reply with quote

OK, so I had to download from IBM the latest version of the Thinkpad driver, and then I got the TP4table.dat file, and then I was in business!!!

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
8daysaweek.co.uk
Super User
Super User


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 2130
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi eric1234,

Sorry I didn't get back to you from you PM. Glad you got it sorted in the end Smile In fact I'm not sure if the scroll works on my laptop at the moment!

BFN Smile,
_________________
James
www.8daysaweek.co.uk - A User-Focused OOo site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group