OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Updating amounts of articles in a stock

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
trall
General User
General User


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:10 am    Post subject: Updating amounts of articles in a stock Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm quite new at base and I would really need some help.

I'd like to make a database with the quantities of different articles in four different stock houses where four different users are supposed to insert and remove articles from the stocks. I was thinking of making one table with the articles, their catalogue code, and the amount of each article. The users will reach and change the table data through four different forms.

If I want to remove, let's say, 36 articles of a kind from stock where there are already 312, what is the esiest way for the user to update the data without having to do the calculation 312-36 in her head and then overwrite the existing data. Is there a way to have an "update column" that will be added to the data and then go back to zero once the data has been updated? Or maybe there is an even easier and more obvious way that I haven't thought of?

I would be so thankful for an answer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trall
General User
General User


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it necessary to use macros?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sergej
General User
General User


Joined: 07 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just let the user to choose what articles to remove, from where to where, and loop through UPDATE SQL command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trall
General User
General User


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply, Sergej.
I have tried to use the update command in a query in the SQL view.
Like this:

Update database.main
set field = "red"
where ID=2;

But Base doesn't accept it. It says "syntax error in SQL expression". But when I use it in my normal SQL interface (SQLyog) the command is accepted and executed.

How can I do to make this work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trall
General User
General User


Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sergej, what do you mean by "loop through UPDATE SQL command"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group