OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Multi-Line with formatting

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
platon
General User
General User


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:32 am    Post subject: Multi-Line with formatting Reply with quote

I have searched this forum an the web for hours. No success. There is a feature "Multi-Line with formatting" in the controls of base forms. Can it really not be meant to be connected to a database filed? Id so need this sort of feature.
I have found a few different approaches here that are partly contradictory but mainly I wonder how this problem can be dragged along through the versions.

approches include:

to be patient and wait till the final release of 2.0
http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=23451

that it might be a bug or a feature
http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=24743

one out of two users with the same release 1.9.125 actually achieves rich text in a database form
http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=23375

and that nobody knows when or if this will be fixed.
http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=25587

Im using 2.1 on an xp machine.
Maybe someone can explain to me, why this isnt fixed. Am I using the wrong sort of DB?

Thanks
Fabian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrewJensen
Super User
Super User


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 2616
Location: Cumberland, MD

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Fabian,

Sorry for the delay here - well, I suppose I found the answer. The specification document for the 'Rich Text Control' states:
Quote:

In addition, all 3 properties of an text field which are related to binding the control to a database field would need to be disabled in case of a rich text control, since it's currently not supported to store formatted text in a database field.


The spec document can be found at
http://dba.openoffice.org/specifications/forms/rich_text_control.sxw

Drew
_________________
Blog - http://baseanswers.spaces.live.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
platon
General User
General User


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:58 pm    Post subject: html-workaround? Reply with quote

Thanks Drew, but that's not really good enough is it? I wonder whether this feature can be included any time soon.
In the meantime I suppose a workaround could be to use HTML fomating tags in the text fields and then find a way to convert the data into actually formatted text when exporting it into a report. No clue how to do the latter though. Or would that confuse the DB because of the tags?

Thanks though,
Fabian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markLj
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 4:00 pm    Post subject: Memo Mult-line with formatting Reply with quote

How do I write a multiline memo and save it into the record. I don't see how you can use a database without this, is there some fundemental error I am making?
_________________
Technology must be appropriate to the task.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

You did choose a possibility, with formatted text, and then you can not save it to a table

Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platon
General User
General User


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 2:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Memo Mult-line with formatting Reply with quote

markLj wrote:
How do I write a multiline memo and save it into the record. I don't see how you can use a database without this, is there some fundemental error I am making?

Instead of "multiline with formatting" use the option called "multiline". That works fine, it saves paragraph breaks but no other formatting.
Platon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldguyCA
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 3:44 pm    Post subject: PLEASE Disable this non-functional data-type Reply with quote

I just wasted several hours trying to set up a database containing large blocks of text. Since the source text I was gathering used formatting -- Bold and Italic -- I tried to set the field type to multiline with formatting.

It looked like it worked. Embarassed

Until I went to add the second record and found the text from the first record already in the field. So I deleted it and added the text for the second record. But found that the Multiline -text with formatting is not really a field. It is more like a label, Appearing at each record the same.

Tried it in openoffice 3x, and NeoOffice, same result. Did web searches, poked around, finally found the reference in this forum.

It would be kind if this field type was not offered as a field type, so that future users don't waste many minutes or hours trying to figure out why it does not work. Crying or Very sad

Otherwise, I enjoy OOo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group