OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Matlab through OO

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Macros and API
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
IamSthitha
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 9:51 am    Post subject: Matlab through OO Reply with quote

Is there anyway of using Matlab through OO writer.
For MSWord, it can be done by opening a template that has macros in it.
However, if I open that template in OO, the macros dont work Sad
So... is there any other way?
Back to top
nom
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 153
Location: NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about you paste the macros here to see if it can be done in starBasic?

nom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DannyB
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 3991
Location: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the license of the template document / macros allow posting to this forum?

If MatLab wrote the Word template document with macros, they might very well be interested in anyone being able to make use of the macros in this fashion. After all, it can only benefit sales of MatLab. (But I would still want to be sure that the license allowed such use.)

If the Word template document came with, for instance, MS Word, as an example of something useful to work with MatLab, then Microsoft might very well be against OOo having similar macros. It would benefit OOo to be able to do this, and MS would want to enforce their copyright on those macros to prevent direct copying, such as pasting to this forum.

These are just two possible scenerios that paint a picture of why the copyright holder might or might not want such macros posted to this forum.

I would ask on a deeper level how Word macros manage to interact with MatLab? Does MatLab register a COM object so that a Word macro can just say CreateObject( "MatLab.Application" ) or something like that? If so, then this, and MatLab's public api docs would be the best path to developing similar macros.
_________________
Want to make OOo Drawings like the colored flower design to the left?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Macros and API All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group