OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Command Time Out on startup

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
johnny_g
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:29 am    Post subject: Command Time Out on startup Reply with quote

Hi,

I am using OpenOffice on my Intel MAC Pro. It was working great until I upgraded to MAC OS X 10.5 Leopard. Now, every time I startup it goes into a wait state for about 15 seconds. It presents this error to me "Command Time Out" I hit continue then it starts up.

This is OpenOffice 2.3 for MAC

Has anyone else experienced this error message and a way to get around it?

Thanks

Johnny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gizmo
OOo Advocate
OOo Advocate


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 248
Location: Everywhere

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here: ooo 2.2.1 italian and macos 10.5





Moderation probe1: 2 SPAM URLs removed


Last edited by gizmo on Sat May 14, 2011 12:05 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MrTAToad
General User
General User


Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've mentioned this before (as well as other problems with OO and 10.5) - Hopefully an update wont be too long.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancerkind
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Mar 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:59 pm    Post subject: Intel MacBook Pro 10.5.1 3GB RAM, XWindows, OpenOffice 2.3 Reply with quote

Yes, I get the timeout too except when I have X already launched. I'm guessing this problem has something to do with the application waiting for the Xserver to get started.

Occasionally, there are times when nothing at all happens. In those cases, I have to quite X, and then launch OpenOffice. (And then get the command timed out-> click OK-> then do work.)

I don't recall getting the "command timed out" error dialog in 10.4.
_________________
==>Lancer---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
wojkem
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 9:52 am    Post subject: NeoOffice Reply with quote

Try NeoOffice. Neo is developed from OOo and uses Java to interpose between OOo and Mac OS X. Mac OS 10.3 or later.
http://www.neooffice.org/neojava/en/index.php

This works much better for me and no command time out like I got with OOo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> Setup and Troubleshooting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group