OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Simple row table via drop down list

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Doom0r
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:08 pm    Post subject: Simple row table via drop down list Reply with quote

Noob to either excel or calc, I am trying to make a simple row list:

Basically, (row1 are headers) I would like A2 to contain a drop-down list that contains a few predefined names of which 1 can be selected. This would then populate B2:F2 with the proper values. This would be for display reference only with no input required by the user except the choice of item in the listbox.

Searching the forums and the OOoAuthors.org guides haven't got me far with this.
Appreciate any input/direction.

Doom0r
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h1h
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 152
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

select the cell and choose menue data, validity.
choose list
enter list below
_________________
OOo 2.3 on Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doom0r
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Understood, but how do I have the 5 cells after it in that row change their data accordingly to the selected item from the list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h1h
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 152
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

with IF, e.g.

=if(a1="xxx";1;if(a1="yyy";2;something else))
_________________
OOo 2.3 on Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doom0r
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most excellent, now to condense: anyway to turn that into say replacing a range at a time using IF? i.e. defining a 5 cell range, would there be a way to make one statement to replace it all? or would it just be easier to do individual statements for each cell?

Thanks

*edit* i did a lil more searching, and based off that idea, would it be easier to set a filter for the first cells data as it would be unique? or would that break compatibility if i output it to excel for instance? thoughts appreciated (i like to learn ;x)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h1h
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 152
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hard to say without seeing your file. I myself prefer filtering over functions, if that serves the cause. "all (or at least many) roads leadt to Rome".
_________________
OOo 2.3 on Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doom0r
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gotcha. I'll play around, see what I come up with. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group