OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

moving between languages keys

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Writer
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yariva
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:19 pm    Post subject: moving between languages keys Reply with quote

when i'm in the middle of writing a document and want to change from hebrew to english what do i do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
helmerj
OOo Advocate
OOo Advocate


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 235
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:51 pm    Post subject: Re: moving between languages keys Reply with quote

yariva wrote:
when i'm in the middle of writing a document and want to change from hebrew to english what do i do?


Hi!

Well two things really I suppose. And how exactly would very much depend on your operating system...

1. Switch your keyboard layout from Hebrew to English which you will have to do on the OS side. Most OS's allow you to have a little taskbar icon indicating the current key board layout and a hot key to switch, some need a click on them...
2. Change the wrting direction from right to left to left to right. Since you write in Hebrew, I guess you have the CTL settings enabled in OpenOffice (Tools>options>Languages Settings) and have the CTL set to hebrew. This gives you two extra icons in the main toolbar. They are next to the "left, centered, right, and block" layout buttons on my Suse installation indicating the text direction with arrows. Click the appropiate one and the text direction changes.

Cheers Juergen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
yariva
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:15 am    Post subject: language cange when i cloe the aplication and open it again Reply with quote

i m working on mac os x that means that openoffice runs on x11.
only when i close oo and close x11 and change language in the small bar near the time and open oo again then i can write in a diffrent language. but i want to switch between languages without doing all this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
helmerj
OOo Advocate
OOo Advocate


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 235
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:43 am    Post subject: Re: language cange when i cloe the aplication and open it ag Reply with quote

yariva wrote:
i m working on mac os x that means that openoffice runs on x11.
only when i close oo and close x11 and change language in the small bar near the time and open oo again then i can write in a diffrent language. but i want to switch between languages without doing all this.


Hi!

Ahh, I didn't know about the Mac stuff...
Just as a reminder: it is always a good idea around here, to tell people what version of OO you are using on which OS, since there are so many different version of OO out there. Whhic of course is a good thing...
Very Happy

So here it goes. Since you are using OO in a X11 setting, all the regular X11 stuff should apply. The taskbar applets that I did mention in my earlier post don't do anything else, they are just a wrapper.

The X11 command to use is this one here:

Code:
setxkbmap


in order to get the hang of it, open a terminal window (a X11 window, not a macosx terminal) and type

Code:
man setxkbmap


this will show you the manual page of the command. the regular use is this one here, e.g. to get to a US layout:

Code:
setxkbmap us


to get back to an Israeli layout, enter this command:

Code:
setxkbmap il


All commands in the X11 terminal, of course. You could create desktop icons that would do this, by executing an X11 terminal, usually xterm and tell it to execute the command you want:

xterm -e 'setxkbmap us'

and another one

with

xterm -e 'setxkbmap il'


That should do it. One could also write some apple script that would do that I suppose, which would find out the current layout and then switches to the other one, limiting the number of icons to click to only one..., but since I don't use a mac I wouldn't know how to do that in apple script...

Cheers Juergen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AndrewZ
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 4140
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For purposes of spell check, here's how to set the document language in OOo 2.4.0 and before. (Sorry, not familiar with CTL specifically.)

Let me know how it goes.
_________________
<signature>
* Did you solve your problem? Do others a favor: Post the solution
* OpenOffice.org Ninja
* BleachBit
</signature>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Writer All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group