OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

How change the default separator at the openning of a csv

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
oe
General User
General User


Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:50 am    Post subject: How change the default separator at the openning of a csv Reply with quote

Hi,

Is there any way to configure Calc to check automatically the ";" by default instead of the "," ?
I find that: http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9888 but the 2 solutions seems to be too "hard" I mean, it will be easier if there is a file to modify or a key in the register.

Thanks,

Olivier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 5668
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would it not be as simple to check/change the delimiter beforehand? That can be done quickly and easily with either a good plain text editor like Metapad, or one of my favourite freeware programs, CSVed.

David.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oe
General User
General User


Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it's simple to do that but the majority of our csv files (those we create and those we receive) use the ";" separator. So if there is a easy way to change the configuration in calc it will be an additional comfort for the user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
probe1
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 2560
Location: Chonburi Thailand Asia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:50 am    Post subject: Re: How change the default separator at the openning of a cs Reply with quote

oe wrote:
easier if there is a file to modify or a key in the register.

There might be one - but nobody knows.

You have to try one of the work-arounds mentioned.
_________________
Cheers
Winfried
My Macros
DateTime2 extension: insert date, time or timestamp, formatted to your needs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
oe
General User
General User


Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's still strange that nobody find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 5668
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oe wrote:
It's still strange that nobody find it.


Why? A program, any program, is written in computer code of one sort or another. The semi-colon, and in this context needed, doesn't exactly leap out at you in pages of code. It's like watching a chess game. You think you see this, but the person playing the game [the programmer] sees that. Who's right?

As you agreed with my suggestion "it's simple to do that". So, I'd keep it simple.

David.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 5668
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

David wrote:
oe wrote:
It's still strange that nobody find it.


Why? A program, any program, is written in computer code of one sort or another. The semi-colon, and in this context needed, doesn't exactly leap out at you in pages of code. It's like watching a chess game. You think you see this, but the person playing the game [the programmer] sees that. Who's right?

As you agreed with my suggestion "it's simple to do that". So, I'd keep it simple. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

David.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oe
General User
General User


Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it's simple but it could be easier ("an additional comfort" as I wrote)

If there is no way, for the moment, to change this i"ll keep it.

Thanks for your help.

Olivier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group