OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

Help with a custom grid

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fantomx11
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:42 pm    Post subject: Help with a custom grid Reply with quote

I need to record a two-dimensional array of values and would like to use base to do it. My problem is the size of the array can change so I shouldn't put them all as fields in a single record. Plus, I don't want to add 144 fields to accommodate the maximum size of the grid.

My preferred method for storing it is to use a varbinary field and write my data to it as needed, but I'm new to base and haven't found a simple way of writing nor retrieving the data. If anyone can show me a way of doing it, I'd appreciate it.

My backup method is to create a new table with at least four fields, a link to the parent record, the x index, the y index, and the value.

The more pressing problem I have, though: I would like is to be able to display and edit these values in a grid on a form. Is that possible? I can't seem to find a basic grid control anywhere in base. I have some experience in Access and I know you could get third party controls that would do this, but I haven't found a way to insert third party controls in OpenOffice.org.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big_cheez
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Help with a custom grid Reply with quote

fantomx11 wrote:
I can't seem to find a basic grid control anywhere in base.
Can anyone please tell how to insert a grid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

study
http://www.geocities.com/rbenitez22/OOo/index.html


Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big_cheez
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RPG wrote:
study
http://www.geocities.com/rbenitez22/OOo/index.html
So the grid control cannot be inserted in a form from the design view?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

illustration 22 from tutorial

Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big_cheez
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 6:47 pm    Post subject: [solved] Help with a custom grid Reply with quote

forgive me but this is rather confusing
a table is not the same as the table control
when i draw a box using the table control, this gives me exactly what i need
when i insert a table, that does nothing for what i need
maybe the table control should be renamed to grid control
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello


Quote:
forgive me but this is rather confusing
a table is not the same as the table control
when i draw a box using the table control, this gives me exactly what i need
when i insert a table, that does nothing for what i need
maybe the table control should be renamed to grid control
It is not clear to me what you mean?
do you need a table control= grid control
or
a table not a control

Difference
As far I understand a table control and a grid control are the same. I don't know when you use one of the two words.
Maybe you use the words:
table control in design mode
grid control in program code

And in this part of the forum we use it maybe mixed but we do not use often the normal table and if we use it only the word table we most of the time do not mean a normal table we know you can not use it with a database.


Table not a control
But maybe you mean table without the word control. You can insert it.
menu --> table --> insert you get a popup for a table.

The problem is it not designed for use with a database. For that reason I did not point to it. I also think for this reason the first post in this thread did not get an answers. In your post you did ask for a grid control and I think I point you to the good place.

Naming
It is real important to use the good names or give a good descripting what you want.
If you do calculation with a database you need queries they are designed for that purpose.

I hope this helps you
Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big_cheez
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
It is not clear to me what you mean?
do you need a table control= grid control

Yes, exactly

Even the tutorial this thread pointed to first refers to the item in question as a 'table grid control'. When the form wizard creates this item in a form/subform it is named grid. Most will refer to a button control as a button, but if I were to refer to a table control as a table, that would be wrong. Is not the equivalent object in ms-vb/access referred to as a grid? If I told someone unfamiliar with openoffice to include a table of data, would they not first use the table menu or insert>table menu by instinct?

If the 'table control' was to be renamed 'grid control' a lot of confusion could be avoided.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

We both and also Mr Benitez have to accept the world. In this case the world as in OOo. And the names are so they are, we cannot change them. I believe that it can be usefull for me; try to understand why the devolpers use those names. If I can understand that it can help me to understand OOo

The word table control is maybe chosen for it is for a table in a database.
The word table in writer is for a table in which you can do other thing. I think that difference is also in Ms Office. This kind of tools are made for professionals. I as home-user have to accept it is difficult. The addition control means maybe that they belong to the forms and not to other parts of OOo

I'm glad you have find a solution for you problem. When I answer your post it was not clear to me. Later I saw the word solved I had missed that word.

I hope it help you to accept the world as the world is.

Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big_cheez
OOo Enthusiast
OOo Enthusiast


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RPG wrote:
I hope it help you to accept the world as the world is.Romke
OR

I hope it help you to accept the word as the word is.

Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RPG
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

I will do it Very Happy



Romke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Base All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group