OpenOffice.org Forum at OOoForum.orgThe OpenOffice.org Forum
 
 [Home]   [FAQ]   [Search]   [Memberlist]   [Usergroups]   [Register
 [Profile]   [Log in to check your private messages]   [Log in

SOLVED - Data Range in Charts

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gene45
General User
General User


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:39 pm    Post subject: SOLVED - Data Range in Charts Reply with quote

I have some line charts in Calc and I need to edit the data Ranges.
I cannot get into the menu that will let me do it except thru the Wizard, i.e Insert a Chart.
But I don't want to insert a chart, I want to edit a chart.

If I click on the chart then go to Format> Data Range as specified in the help file, Data Range is greyed out, an sometimes does not exist.

I know this can be done, but how do I get into it?

Thanks.....


Last edited by Gene45 on Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David
Super User
Super User


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 5668
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Click on the chart. Right mouse / Data Range. Will show the present data range, such as $Sheet1.$A$1:$C$3 ...look to the right and see a little ice-blue icon. Hover the mouse over it,and you'll see "Select data range". Click the icon. Now move the mouse into the speadsheet and select the range by dragging over it.

David.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gene45
General User
General User


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A right click on the chart brings up a dialogue box with:

Object Properties
Postion and size
Arrangement

Chart Type
Chart Data table (shows what data is in the chart but not how to change it)

Copy
Paste

None of these show me the data ranges that I can change.

If I right click on one of the lines, I et the same list plus

Insert Y errors bars
Insert mean value line
Insert trend line.

There must be another switch somewhere............
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gene45
General User
General User


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 44
Location: Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My original problem came about after I had copied two charts at once, by painting >copy> paste, and then edit. This is how NOT to do it.

After the first note, I deleted my charts, went back to the original and copied it twice by clicking on the chart, edit >copy > paste.> paste then tried to edit the ranges.

The recommended process worked.

I also put in trend lines, (very instructive) but the legend has grown to explain them, and I cannot edit out the empty spaces. Any suggestions.?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OOoForum.org Forum Index -> OpenOffice.org Calc All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group